Okara
Back to Blog
By · Published October 30, 2026 · 18 min read

Gumloop Funding and Valuation: How Gumloop Raised $70M

Gumloop raised a $50M Series B in March 2026, bringing funding to about $70M, and Forbes puts its value at $300M. See its revenue, team and growth timeline.

Gumloop has raised about $70 million. The biggest piece is a $50 million Series B led by Benchmark, announced on March 12, 2026. Before that came a $3.1 million seed round in July 2024 and a $17 million Series A in January 2025. Forbes listed Gumloop on its Next Billion-Dollar Startups list in July 2026 with $70 million in equity raised and a valuation of $300 million. Gumloop itself has not disclosed a valuation.

Revenue is less clear. In June 2025, PitchBook reported that Gumloop's revenue was up to "several million a year." The company has not shared a newer figure.

The more unusual number is headcount. Gumloop raised its Series A with two founders and no full-time employees. By the Series B it had 24 people. Its customers now include Shopify, Ramp, Gusto, Samsara, Instacart and Opendoor.

Gumloop's key numbers

MetricFigureDateSource
Revenue"Several million a year"June 2025PitchBook
Third-party revenue estimate~$1.1M ARR (estimate, not company data)2025GetLatka
Total fundingAbout $70 millionJuly 2026Forbes; round totals from TechCrunch and BetaKit
Latest round$50 million Series B led by BenchmarkMarch 12, 2026Gumloop, TechCrunch
Valuation$300 million (reported by Forbes, not confirmed by Gumloop)July 28, 2026Forbes
Series A$17 million led by Nexus Venture PartnersJanuary 10, 2025Gumloop, TechCrunch
Seed$3.1 million led by First Round CapitalJuly 23, 2024Gumloop, BetaKit
Employees24March 2026BetaKit
Employees9 full-timeJune 2025PitchBook
Users"Thousands" relying on it as a core toolJanuary 2025Gumloop
Largest published deploymentShopify: 110+ teams, ~6,000 workflows, 17M+ actionsAugust 18, 2025Gumloop

We used PitchBook's "several million a year" over GetLatka's estimate because PitchBook's figure came from reporting with the CEO, while GetLatka's is a model-based estimate. The two cannot both be right for 2025.

Timeline

DateMilestone
April 2023Max Brodeur-Urbas and Rahul Behal found the company as AgentHub
May 3, 2023"Show HN: AutoGPT Made Easy" links to agenthub.dev
Winter 2024AgentHub goes through Y Combinator's W24 batch
February 8, 2024Launch HN: "A no-code automation platform" gets 162 points
May 2024AgentHub renames itself Gumloop
July 23, 2024$3.1M seed led by First Round; almost half a million nodes run per day
August 6, 2024Gumloop Creators affiliate program launches
January 10, 2025$17M Series A led by Nexus; $20M raised in total; team of two founders
March 24, 2025guMCP launches: open-source MCP servers, hosted for free
June 2025PitchBook reports "several million a year" in revenue and nine full-time staff
August 2025Shopify case study published; Shopify Ventures invests
November 18, 2025Community Templates launch
December 15, 2025Pricing simplified into a single Pro plan; free credits raised to 5,000 a month
March 12, 2026$50M Series B led by Benchmark; 24 employees
July 28, 2026Forbes lists Gumloop at a $300M valuation with $70M raised

It started in the Auto-GPT Discord

In spring 2023, Auto-GPT was an open-source project that promised autonomous agents able to complete tasks on their own. Using it meant cloning a GitHub repository and setting up a local environment.

Brodeur-Urbas, a former Microsoft software engineer, and Behal, a former machine learning engineer at Amazon Web Services, were spending time in the Auto-GPT Discord. In their Launch HN post, they wrote that they saw "thousands of non-technical users struggle to clone the repo or set up their environments." So they built "a (very ugly) web app within a few days so anyone could experiment."

On May 3, 2023, a Show HN post titled "AutoGPT Made Easy" linked to agenthub.dev. BetaKit later described the earliest product as a "simple UI wrapper" around Auto-GPT.

Then they noticed something about how people used it. Users were "literally begging the Agents to complete simple tasks and giving up due to cost/frustration," the founders wrote. The work people wanted to automate was simple and repetitive. Autonomous agents were the wrong tool for it.

The origin story has one more twist. Forbes reported that Brodeur-Urbas's original co-founder quit "out of the blue," and that the same day he went to a developers' meetup and connected with Behal, a fellow McGill graduate. BetaKit, citing a Gumloop video, says the two met in class after the first co-founder quit. Either way, the pair that built Gumloop formed right after a near-collapse.

From autonomous agents to a drag-and-drop canvas

The pivot was from "ask an agent" to "build the steps yourself." The first version, the founders admitted, was "a borderline un-usable series of drop down menus." It became a canvas where users drag nodes (reading an inbox, calling an AI model, writing to a Google Sheet) and connect them into a flow.

In the February 2024 Launch HN, which reached 162 points and 85 comments, they described it as "somewhat similar in concept to Zapier or Make.com," but aimed at more complex work. "We originally described it as Zapier on crack," they wrote.

The key tension they named was the one that still defines the company: "balancing usability and complexity." Gumloop's 2026 Series B announcement lists its first core tenet as "give people UX they rave about." The product has changed a lot since 2023. That priority has not.

Why AgentHub became Gumloop

In May 2024, a few months after YC Demo Day, the company changed its name. Brodeur-Urbas's blog post explaining the change is unusually frank.

Some people misheard "AgentHub" as something else entirely. The .dev domain signaled a developer tool, when the target users were not developers. And the product was no longer really about agents: "Now that we're a platform for AI automation, the Agent part of AgentHub is more misleading than anything." He also argued that most people outside AI did not know what an AI agent was.

"Gumloop" was chosen for simpler reasons. It was two syllables, the .com and .ai domains were free, "gum" suggested gluing apps together, "loop" pointed at running an automation thousands of times, and there was almost no existing content for the name to compete with in search. Brodeur-Urbas even liked that packs of gum would make cheap merch.

It is a small decision, but it shows how deliberately Gumloop positioned itself for non-technical buyers. Ironically, by 2026 "agents" was the word enterprise buyers wanted, and Gumloop's flagship product is now called Gumloop Agents.

A seed round with two founders and an intern

On July 23, 2024, Gumloop announced a $3.1 million seed round led by First Round Capital, with Y Combinator and angels including Instacart co-founder Max Mullen, Dropbox co-founder Arash Ferdowsi, Andrew Ofstad of Airtable and Immad Akhund of Mercury. BetaKit reported that Gumloop had raised about $3.4 million in total by then.

The team was two technical co-founders and an intern. The product was already running "almost half a million nodes" a day, according to Gumloop's announcement.

The use cases in that post explain why the company found pull. A Canadian accounting firm automated invoice processing end to end. A startup in San Francisco automated programmatic SEO content. A travel company had more than 50 employees building their own flows. One early customer processing academic papers said it saved more than $200,000 a year by building its product with non-technical staff.

None of these users were engineers. That was the point.

Founder-led marketing, on X and LinkedIn

Gumloop did not build a marketing team early. In June 2025, PitchBook reported that Brodeur-Urbas "does many of the demo calls by himself or with his one business development-focused coworker and markets the product on X and LinkedIn."

The company also made a public story out of its size. The January 2025 Series A post said Gumloop wanted to be "a 10 person, billion dollar company" and that "there are 6 spots left." That line did a lot of work. It made the hiring page into content, it made the company a regular example in coverage of small AI teams (PitchBook's headline was "Gumloop's quest to create a $1B startup with 10 people"), and it attracted candidates who liked the idea.

The goal did not survive the Series B, as we explain below. But as a way to get attention with no marketing budget, it was effective.

Paying creators to teach the product

A no-code tool depends on tutorials. People need to see what is possible before they build anything.

On August 6, 2024, Gumloop launched Gumloop Creators, an affiliate program. Approved creators get a discount code that gives their audience 20% off the first month, and they receive 20% of the referred subscription revenue every month for a year. Gumloop said it would also co-promote creators' posts, prioritize feature requests their audiences wanted and give them early access to new features so they could demo them first.

Gumloop now runs separate application pages for creators and for Gumloop "experts," and lists more than a dozen workshop pages on its site. The Series B post says the team has "ran hundreds of workshops."

Borrowing reach from creators

Gumloop's early distribution came from people with audiences: the CEO's own X and LinkedIn posts and creators paid to teach the product. For a small team, the hard part is finding the right creators and keeping up with outreach. Okara's Influencer Agent finds relevant X creators and handles outreach, and the LinkedIn Agent drafts founder posts, with every draft waiting for your approval.

The $17 million Series A, raised by two people

On January 10, 2025, Gumloop announced a $17 million Series A led by Nexus Venture Partners, with First Round, Y Combinator and angels including Max Mullen, Shaan Puri, Webflow co-founder Bryant Chou and Databricks co-founder Reynold Xin. Total funding reached $20 million.

"We technically raised this Series A as a team of 2 founders without hiring anyone full time," Brodeur-Urbas wrote, though the company had had two interns and two contractors along the way. BetaKit reported the team was the two founders plus one employee, all relocating from Vancouver to San Francisco.

By then, "thousands of users rely on Gumloop as a core tool for their business," according to the company, and customers included Instacart, Webflow, Rippling and Samsara. The post noted that users ranged from indie hackers to a Fortune 100 company sending thousands of personalized emails to event attendees.

Both Gumloop and TechCrunch quoted the same line about the raise: "We didn't need the money at all." Five months later, PitchBook reported that the seed and Series A money was "still in the bank, untouched."

Giving away MCP servers

When the Model Context Protocol took off in early 2025, Gumloop responded fast. On March 24, 2025, it announced guMCP, open-source MCP servers hosted free of charge, and said it was building "the largest aggregation of MCP servers on earth." A Show HN post for it reached 79 points.

The likely logic for a no-code company is simple, and Gumloop's own setup steps point to it. MCP lets AI assistants like Claude and Cursor use outside apps. If a developer or power user connects those apps through Gumloop, they already have credentials set up in Gumloop, which is the first step toward building automations there.

It also produced a lot of indexable pages. On September 26, 2026, Gumloop's sitemap listed 319 URLs under /mcp, alongside 195 template pages and 161 blog posts. We could not find data on how much traffic these pages bring. Their scale suggests Gumloop treats them as an acquisition channel.

Shopify, from pilot to company-wide rollout

The customer story that best explains Gumloop's shift to enterprise is Shopify.

In an August 18, 2025 case study, Gumloop said Shopify piloted the product as part of a broader push to get non-engineers using AI, and "just weeks after the pilot launched" decided to roll it out across the whole company. The early numbers it published: more than 110 teams actively using Gumloop, about 6,000 unique workflows and more than 17 million actions executed.

Teams used it for customer research, account scoring for revenue teams, SEO content, social listening, CI/CD alerts and support ticket summaries. The pattern is the one Gumloop's CEO described to TechCrunch in 2026: employees build an agent, share it, "they get addicted, they start building more agents, and then all of a sudden, the whole company is AI native."

Shopify Ventures invested in Gumloop the same month. BetaKit later reported that part of that investment converted into the Series B.

Benchmark's Ev Randle told TechCrunch about a similar pattern during due diligence. One customer had given employees access to Gumloop and two competitors. Six months later, staff used Gumloop daily or weekly, while the other tools "sat untouched."

Templates and the "what do I build?" problem

A blank canvas is a hard place to start. Gumloop's November 18, 2025 launch of Community Templates addressed that directly. Users had been asking, "What can Gumloop actually do?" and "How are other marketers, salespeople or engineers using Gumloop?"

The template library shows flows and agents built by Gumloop's team and community members, with profiles for top creators. Early contributors included a growth engineer at the AI search company Parallel and long-time community members who shared flows for LinkedIn content, cold call scripts and extracting leads from Google Maps.

Templates do double duty. They answer the onboarding question for new users, and each template page is another specific search result for a task someone wants to automate.

Pricing built around credits and teams

Gumloop charges for credits, not per automation. On December 15, 2025, it simplified its plans: the Solo and Team plans merged into a single Pro plan, most former Team users got a lower price, and free users got 5,000 credits a month instead of 2,000.

The stated reason was collaboration. "Gumloop is most effective in team settings," the company wrote, but the barrier to its collaborative features had been too high. Under the new plan, every paying user gets organizations, shared credit pools and shared ownership of agents and workflows.

As of September 2026, Pro starts at $37 a month with 20,000 credits and a 14-day free trial, and Enterprise is custom. Moving collaboration into the base paid plan fits the Shopify pattern. The more people inside one company build and share agents, the more likely the company is to sign an enterprise contract.

Enterprise demand changed the plan

The March 12, 2026 Series B raised $50 million, led by Benchmark's Ev Randle in his first deal at the firm, with Nexus, First Round, Y Combinator, BoxGroup, The Cannon Project and Shopify Ventures. Gumloop said it had not been looking for capital but decided this was the year to "step on the gas."

It also dropped the 10-person goal. Brodeur-Urbas told TechCrunch that surging enterprise demand had pushed him to build a sales team and grow engineering. He told BetaKit the company had 24 employees and posted 11 new roles. "Back then, all our customers were self-serve/consumer users but we started seeing an extremely strong pull from enterprises which changed how we needed to build the team," he said.

The product line changed with the buyer. The Series B post introduced three pieces:

  • Gumloop Agents, which anyone at a company can build and deploy in Slack, Teams or email
  • Gumloop, the core platform for building, sharing and orchestrating agents and automations
  • Gumstack, a tool for security teams that logs tool calls across the organization, including from Claude Code, ChatGPT and Cursor

The service side scaled too. Gumloop said it had sat on "thousands of customer calls," run hundreds of workshops and answered more than 8,000 customer questions in private Slack channels.

Competing with Zapier, n8n and the model labs

Gumloop's market is crowded. TechCrunch named Zapier, n8n and Dust as competitors, and pointed out that Anthropic's Claude Cowork now lets users create agents without code.

Randle's argument for Gumloop was ease of use and model neutrality. "You can go in and start making agents and workflow automations immediately," he told TechCrunch. And because Gumloop lets customers pick the best model for each task, a better model from one lab makes Gumloop more useful rather than obsolete.

Whether that holds is the open question. Gumloop's main defense so far has been the one it started with in 2023: making automation usable by people who do not write code, and then spreading inside companies one shared agent at a time.

What founders can learn from Gumloop

Watch where users struggle, not what they ask for

Gumloop's founders did not set out to build a drag-and-drop tool. They watched non-technical people in the Auto-GPT Discord fail at simple tasks and built for that.

Rename when the name works against you

AgentHub was confusing for the audience Gumloop wanted. The rename cost little and made the product easier to explain.

Turn a constraint into a story

The "10 person, billion dollar company" line got Gumloop press, recruits and attention before it had a marketing team. When enterprise demand arrived, the company dropped the goal and said so publicly.

Let internal sharing do the selling

Shopify went from pilot to company-wide rollout in weeks, and employees building and sharing workflows was the pattern Gumloop highlighted. The December 2025 pricing change put that sharing on every paid plan.

Raise from strength

Gumloop said it did not need its Series A or its Series B. Both rounds came when the company could pick its investors rather than chase them.

More startup growth stories

Frequently asked questions

How much funding has Gumloop raised?

Gumloop has raised about $70 million, according to Forbes in July 2026. That includes a $3.1 million seed round led by First Round Capital in July 2024, a $17 million Series A led by Nexus Venture Partners in January 2025 and a $50 million Series B led by Benchmark on March 12, 2026.

What is Gumloop's valuation?

Forbes listed Gumloop at a $300 million valuation on its Next Billion-Dollar Startups list published July 28, 2026. Gumloop has not publicly confirmed a valuation, and CEO Max Brodeur-Urbas did not disclose one after the March 2026 Series B.

What is Gumloop's revenue?

Gumloop has not published a revenue figure. PitchBook reported in June 2025 that Gumloop's revenue was up to "several million a year." GetLatka estimates about $1.1 million in ARR for 2025, but that is a third-party estimate and conflicts with PitchBook's reporting.

How many employees does Gumloop have?

Gumloop had 24 employees in March 2026, according to BetaKit, and was hiring for 11 more roles. In June 2025 it had nine full-time staff, and when it raised its Series A in January 2025 the team was two founders and one employee.

Who founded Gumloop and when?

Max Brodeur-Urbas (CEO) and Rahul Behal (CTO) founded Gumloop in April 2023 under the name AgentHub. Brodeur-Urbas previously worked at Microsoft and Behal at Amazon Web Services. The company went through Y Combinator's Winter 2024 batch and renamed itself Gumloop in May 2024.

Who invested in Gumloop?

Gumloop's investors include Benchmark, Nexus Venture Partners, First Round Capital, Y Combinator, BoxGroup, The Cannon Project and Shopify Ventures, as of the March 2026 Series B. Angels include Instacart co-founder Max Mullen, Dropbox co-founder Arash Ferdowsi and Databricks co-founder Reynold Xin.

Which companies use Gumloop?

Gumloop says teams at Shopify, Ramp, Gusto, Samsara, Instacart and Opendoor use its platform, as of March 2026. Shopify rolled it out company-wide in 2025, with more than 110 teams and about 6,000 workflows in the early months, according to Gumloop's August 2025 case study.

How much does Gumloop cost?

As of September 2026, Gumloop has a free plan, a Pro plan starting at $37 a month with 20,000 credits and a 14-day free trial, and custom Enterprise pricing. Free users received 5,000 credits a month after the December 2025 pricing change.

Sources